{morning pages} The Best Things in Life Are Worth Waiting For…

I have always loved the saying “The best things in life are worth waiting for.” Of late, I have really sat and played with this concept. Where I do believe that the best things in life take time to obtain and achieve (considered waiting, I suppose), I feel that this saying may give the idea that you can literally just sit around and wait. I don’t know about you but this is often not the case.

In my experience (of a whopping 26 years), I have always had to work hardest at that which I wish to accomplish. Yes, timing can make or break any situation, but that steadfast determination to achieve  regardless of obstacles is what I personally believe has gotten me to where I am today…and what will continue to carry me forward. Yes, I’ve fallen and, yes, I’m pretty sure I’ve been tossed in the mud at times, but it’s determination that carries me through time and time again.

All of that being said, a lack of devotion or drive to get to where you aim to go can absolutely annihilate your hopes and dreams. It deeply saddens me to hear friends giving up and settling – whether it be career related or a romantic relationship, I truly believe that (in a lot of circumstances) we have the ability to persevere to make a better life for ourselves.

Some of this comes back to setting intentions. As beautiful as setting an intention is, without the intention of action to compliment, this sometimes enables us to sit idly by whilst waiting for things to unfold on their own. 

Following intention, probably most importantly, comes self-love and self-respect. If you don’t love yourself and don’t respect yourself, no one will. If you don’t believe in you and what you deserve, you will likely never obtain what you look for out of life. Confidence is everything. Know your worth and acknowledge it. Take charge and make your own dreams come true because no one is going to do it for you.

I will shamelessly and readily admit that I have (and still do), at times, wait. Heck, there are times where I not only wait, I sell myself so short that I end up waking myself out of that trance to realize opportunities are passing me by. From here on out, I will intentionally and actively no longer let opportunities I dream of pass me by and I will not allow myself to accept anything less than I know I deserve. This isn’t my 2013 resolution…this is a resolution for my life. Change is a challenge, but so crucial for us to evolve and transform into our true selves. Basically, life is too short to be allowing yourself to take a hold of the poop end of the stick.

Merely waiting does not allow you to live your life to the fullest. Live in the moment and honestly.Take chances. Create space for something new. This will make room for new and amazing opportunities. When opportunity comes knocking, open the door. Quit waiting. Practice patience. Be adventurous. Give yourself permission to let go. Dive in. Never look back. Embrace this moment as though it’s your last…your happiness is what is at stake here.

It may take time, but an active effort and intention will get you there…because, after all,  the best things in life are worth waiting for.

What are you waiting for? What are your thoughts?

Happy Twos-Day, loves!
Ciara

Leave a Reply

