3 Years of Excitement, Passion and Gratitude

When I was 14 years old, I stumbled upon 6 asanas (yoga postures) in a YM (Young and Modern) magazine. I tried it out for fitness’ sake – awkwardly trying to mimic these poses in the photos with little awareness of the importance of breath and not knowing much about proper alignment. I practiced with the ego and the insecurities of a young teen girl – struggling more than necessary, but loving each movement because of how the practice left me feeling inside and out. I remember my first yoga outfit – a matching pale blue cotton top and bottom. I recall my first yoga props – a royal blue sticky mat with matching blocks from Avon. I even had a small collection of yoga VHS tapes (that’s right, I said VHS). I was all set to get my yoga groove on. I was in love with it. Unbeknownst to me, I would fall in and out of this practice several times over the years with no initial intention of doing anything with it.

I floated in and out of practice because of school, work, relationships, friendships…life is busy and we all have our reasons excuses. I loved it, but I wasn’t committed and I was very wrapped up in the world around me instead of the world within me.

It wasn’t until June 24, 2008 that the lost and heartbroken 21 year old version of me wandered back to my practice for good. The ending of an undesirable relationship that had followed a long term, meaningful relationship meant that I was keeping busy. Really busy. I had become friends with one of my female clients at a business services company I was working for at the time. She invited me along to attend a Hot Yoga class that night. This was my first time stepping foot into a yoga studio and my first class led by a teacher (in person). It was a 7:30pm Hot Yoga class on a Tuesday. I recall the heat feeling overwhelming, but the practice itself was an experience like no other. My teacher was strong, loving, gentle, powerful and graceful. The class was challenging, but empowering and healing. I cried in pigeon pose. I fell back in love with yoga. Hard. More importantly…I started to fall back in love with myself. This practice reminded me to come back to me. That people will come and go. That life is beautiful.

After that, I simply couldn’t stop. I was madly in love with yoga and madly in love with life. The possibilities seemed endless because they were. I wanted to know more.

A year later, I participated in a 30 day challenge – I practiced asana every day for 30 days (sometimes twice a day). I was hungry for yoga. Halfway through, I approached my teacher about whether or not I was “ready” for training. She smiled knowingly and returned the question (I would grow to love this answer – a question I now ask myself instead of asking others).

I wasn’t sold on the trainings that were coming up, so I opted to wait. That was until my teacher and another who resonated with me deeply were both leading a 200+ hour Power Yoga Teacher Training. I signed up almost immediately. Saved up faster than I had ever saved for anything to pay in full before the early bird cut off and sat patiently impatiently waiting for it to begin.

After 200+ hours of philosophy, asana, anatomy, alignment, journaling, breath work, adjusting, practice teaching, breakdowns, breakthroughs and ah-ha moments…I graduated on June 12, 2011.

3 years later, with over 500 teaching hours under my belt, I am still very much in love. I move, breathe and meditate daily. I am ever growing and ever changing. I am stronger and happier than I could have ever dreamed of that first class on June 24, 2008. I am so grateful for what yoga has encouraged me invite into my life.

I am thankful for the wonderful people I have met in this continuously growing community – fabulous teachers and amazing students alike. Thank you to each and every teacher that has shared their knowledge with me. Thank you to each and every student for allowing me the privilege of guiding you through your practice, for trusting me to keep you safe, for sharing your laughter, for giving me so many meaningful experiences and for simply showing up.

I am blessed to have found my passion and for the souls who invite me to share it with them. 3 years have gone by and not once have I ever looked back.

Namasté.

With endless love.

I will be celebrating the only way I know how ~ by teaching my heart out. Join me and share some yoga love:

Thursday, June 12 – Power Yoga – 7:00-8:00pm – Anytime Fitness
Saturday, June 14 – Yogafit 11:00am-12:00pm – Cherry Blossom
– The Art of Arm Balancing – 2:00-3:30pm – Mooney’s Bay
– Floating Flow Yoga – 4:00-5:30pm – Urban Ocean (Mooney’s Bay)
Sunday, June 15 – Power & Yin – 11:00am-12:30pm – Anytime Fitness

 YoGratitude

 

 

One thought on “3 Years of Excitement, Passion and Gratitude

  1. Congrats on your Yoga anniversary! So beautifully written & expressed. I’m fortunate to have met you…Best yoga Teacher Ever. Thank you for sharing Ciara!

Leave a Reply

