Music Moves My Soul

Outfit by Inner Fire  ~ Photo by Mark Gustafsson

Music is magic. It can make us dance. It can make us cry. Music can trigger so many memories. It has the power to bring up a whirlwind of emotions and pluck at our heart strings. Music has always been an integral part of my life, ever since I was just a wee lass. Whether it was when I was younger playing clarinet or the electric bass guitar or now when I am singing around the house at the top of my lungs from every corner of my heart and dancing my asana off, music has moved me to my core.

Since the very first yoga class I offered, music has been a huge part of them. My sequences are inspired by my playlists. It is a beautiful and emotional dance on my mat when I am planning my students’ practices. Lots of thoughtful planning – music and asana to suit the theme and collective intention. I put together a playlist that I would love to practice to and I flow it out, over and over again, until it is absolutely perfect. This will sometimes happen over a couple of days or over several hours of play on my mat to get it just right (I’m like Yogi-locks when it comes to my playlists).

I have always been asked about certain songs on my playlists, but, lately, the requests have become more frequent. I am excited to announce that commencing next week I will be committing to sharing a popular playlist or two from the previous week via a new weekly blog entry: Tunesday. Yes. I went there. No, I have no shame.

Outfit: Shake Your Asana Tank and Bloom Leggings from Inner Fire Photo by Mark Gustafsson
Outfit: Shake Your Asana Tank and Bloom Leggings from Inner Fire Shop at www.myinnerfire.com with code CiaraB to save 15% off! Photo by Mark Gustafsson
For now, my Yin playlist this week and last:

“Wait” by M83
“Talking One Language” by Vargo
“Coffee” by Sylvan Esso
“For What It’s Worth (India Dub)” by DJ Drez
“The Keeper” by Bonobo
“Floating Sweetness” by DJ Drez
“Lokah” by Deva Premal
“Illumina” by Deva Premal
“Grandmothersphere” by East Forest
“Interlude #2” by East Forest
“Walk the Walk” by East Forest
“Not About Angels” by Birdy

 

Inner Revolution

IMG_3362I am very excited to announce that I have joined a positively amazing team of yogis out in Kanata at Inner Revolution. This beautiful, cozy second level studio is run by an absolutely lovely and radiant yogi named Brenna. The space is extremely warm and welcoming. It immediately felt like I was home when I stepped through the studio door – a smiling and friendly greeting, a comfy couch in the lounge area, the smell of YogOil essential oils blends and the space between the lounge and the studio accented perfectly with a stunning teal barn door. My practice in this space was divine and each class I have taught over the last two weeks has felt more and more amazing. You can find me blissing out there for three back-to-back classes on Monday evenings:

5:30pm Power
6:45pm All Levels Flow
8:00pm Yin

If you haven’t already, come visit us and enjoy this beautiful space filled with amazing energy! Our intro month is only $35 for 30 days of unlimited yoga!

IMG_3775Partner Yoga

I am excited to announce two upcoming Partner Yoga Workshops! I absolutely love teaching my regular public classes, but Partner Yoga does hold a very special place in my heart. The laugher and energy that fills the room each and every time I have the pleasure to lead this workshop is inexplicable. It absolutely warms my heart and soul watching people (friends, family, partners alike) coming together. Providing the space for people to trust, play, evolve communication and learn to take themselves a little less seriously in order to find out what they are capable of as they unite as a beautiful team of two…it’s a blessing. These workshops are always all levels friendly and require no previous experience. I would be absolutely thrilled to have you join me on your mat for this lighthearted and enchanting experience. Two opportunities to shine:

Saturday, October 24th from 7:00 to 9:00pm at Pure Yoga Westboro
Sunday, November 8th from 2:00 to 4:00pm at Inner Revolution

I can’t wait to meet you on your mat!

Love, light and gratitude,
Ciara xo

3 thoughts on “Music Moves My Soul

  1. It was wonderful to meet you on Sunday! Looking forward to attending one of your classes at Inner Revolution.
    Tunesday is a very fun idea….hearing music from a yoga practice triggers the valuable reminders to breathe, be centered and smile…
    Namaste

    • It was an absolute pleasure meeting you on Sunday, Pamela! I’m very much looking forward to seeing you in class at Inner Revolution. It would be a privilege to guide you through your practice.
      I am very excited for Tunesday! My playlists aren’t always traditional, but they are always so much fun.
      Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. Lovely to hear from you!
      Namaste.

  2. Hi Ciara, Thank you so much for your playlist. Haven’t listened to them all yet but I love what I’ve heard and these pieces of music have led me to others. I have been finding it difficult to find suitable music. Thanks again. I live in Ireland so you’re too far away but your workshops and classes sound great. Nameste, Sheela

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

